Dr. Sylvia Opanga is the winner of the Institut Mérieux – KAVI-ICR Young Investigator Award 2021.

This award aims to provide an incentive for promising young investigators working in the field of AMR and COVID-19 in recognition of a major achievement having significant impact on the handling of AMR and/or infectious disease diagnostics or management.

Dr. Sylvia Opanga is Clinical Pharmacist and a Senior Lecturer at the University of Nairobi’s Department of Pharmacy. She holds a PhD in Clinical Pharmacy a Master of Pharmacy in Clinical Pharmacy and a Bachelor of Pharmacy degree all from University of Nairobi.

She practices at Kenyatta National Hospital and her main areas of interest are Surgical, Cardiovascular and Infectious disease pharmacotherapy. She also holds a fellowship in Implementation Science from the University of Washington

She has served in the national COVID 19 response team, representing the Pharmaceutical Society of Kenya (PSK). She is also the chair of the PSK COVID19 education and publicity committee, which has seen her organize several webinars for pharmacists throughout the country. At the Faculty of Health Sciences, she is a member of the COVID 19 committee and she chairs a similar committee for the Department of Pharmacy. She has collaborated internationally with other researchers to publish papers on COVID 19.

She has also served as a member of the Kenyatta National Hospital antimicrobial stewardship sub-committee which was responsible for the development and launch of the antimicrobial stewardship guidelines for the hospital. She is currently a member of the National antimicrobial stewardship technical working group, through which she has been able to author several national documents and guidelines on AMR, and develop in-service and preservice curricula on antimicrobial stewardship. She is also a member of the Pharmacy and Poisons board drug scheduling committee, which has incorporated the AWaRe categorization of antibiotics in its schedules, through her contribution.

Sylvia is a champion for pharmacy practice and combating AMR in Kenya and internationally. We hope this award will encourage her and help further her great work in combating infectious diseases.